The view from Arthur’s Seat, 2012.

arthursseat
The view from the peak of Arthur’s Seat. Edinburgh, September 2012.

We decided to go up Arthur’s Seat, my friends and I, that first time I visited Edinburgh. It wasn’t a difficult climb, but somehow we managed to choose one of the harder trails, and we kept being smothered by the wind as it rustled through the grass and heather. Barely anyone was using the trail, but when we came nearer to the peak there were loads of people on the mountain, and they were all coming up from the side pictured in the photo. I believe that’s Dunsapie Loch in the distance.

It was a sunny day, probably a bit warm for September. I can’t recall whether it was a weekend, but there were families hiking up, senior citizens, groups of kids. And us, of course, the perpetually awed tourists, some of us not in appropriate footwear, but I had given up trying to drill any sense into my companions.

The view was lovely. We could see very far into the distance thanks to the good weather, but my geography of the region was (and is still) too poor to be able to pinpoint any major landmarks.

Save

2 thoughts on “The view from Arthur’s Seat, 2012.

  1. Luca Povoleri 20 September 2016 / 5:40 pm

    Ahah I totally feel the same poor orientation while hiking too… it’s like “I love here, I’d like to live here for the rest of my life” but then “where am I exactely?”… Nice post and photo!! ;)

    • andtherain 20 September 2016 / 5:53 pm

      Haha, yes, definitely felt like staying for the rest of my life there, even as we struggled to find the way. A good thing the peak was always visible!

      Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

