status report: one month in

So. It’s been a month since I started posting in this blog. To my surprise, I managed to post almost daily. I missed four days, but there were two days where I posted twice, so I guess that evens it out a little.

I didn’t actually plan to post daily. I started one day, then I continued on the next, and when I hit five days in a row I considered giving this posting daily thing a chance.

Has it helped in my quest to write more? Well, I am writing more, but I don’t think I’ve written much that is substantial. There’s been snippets of fiction, general observations, attempts at prompts, terrible attempts at poetry, a photo or two. I still haven’t found a subject I want to focus on, or a story that I can imagine myself working on daily.

(I’ll just have to point out that when the rain stops, currently the only thing ‘serialised’, as it is, is nothing like what I thought I was planning to write. It seems to be a slice-of-life, undramatic unfolding of a mostly ordinary life. I always thought I was a fantasy adventure kind of girl.)

Quite a few of those “poems” were originally prose, but were either too melodramatic or pretentious to fit in anywhere, so they ended up being melodramatic and pretentious poems instead. Poetry is something that I don’t have a natural appreciation of; I stare at verses and wonder if they’re just a jumble of words or if they actually do mean more than they seem. I always feel sheepish after I post something that’s not a haiku — it feels like I’m pretending at being something I’m not.

I’m not sure why I’m ok with haiku, though. Maybe because it’s structured? I tend to follow the 5-7-5 rule quite strictly, even though the lines come to weird and abrupt ends at times.

I still have trouble getting myself to sit at my desk and write something for twenty minutes straight without editing it while writing. I set a timer and I try, but some days it doesn’t work at all. On the days it works, I spend two or three twenty-minute sessions editing the mess I managed to get out on the screen, and some of the results of those sessions are still hidden in my drafts.

I don’t think posting (almost) daily is something I can keep at. It was a fun exercise, but, well, not the thing for me. I’ll have to cut it down to a few days a week, but I’ll probably stick to a schedule for accountability reasons. Otherwise I might just slowly fade away and never be heard from again. (It has happened before.)

3 thoughts on “status report: one month in

  1. inkowlme 12 October 2016 / 11:34 am

    Totally hear you on this. I’m posting once per day for the entire month

    • inkowlme 12 October 2016 / 11:35 am

      Whoops, sorry fat fingers. Needless to aay I don’t think I’ll do it again. :) Keep it up!

      • andtherain 12 October 2016 / 2:12 pm

        Good luck! I think we all have to try it once, just to find our limits. :)

Leave a Reply

