fifty thousand words isn’t really that much

So, are you attempting Nanowrimo this year? I’m still on the fence.

I’ve just checked in at the website and it says that I’ve been a member ‘for about 13 years’. Holy word count, Batman. (It could be more than 13, but they only started properly tracking in 2002, and I honestly can’t remember when I first got dragged into that insanity.) I didn’t participate in all those 13 years; I skipped more than I participated. And I’ve never won.

Yep, I’ve never hit that 50,000 word mark in the last 13 years, be it in 30 days or not.

My problem is plot, really. I’ve tried winging it, it doesn’t really work for me; I’ve tried planning, but I’m just not a meticulous enough planner so that doesn’t work either. I have something vaguely resembling an outline this year, but I still don’t know whether I should attempt it.

Thirteenth year lucky, maybe?

I keep thinking: if I really wanted to give it a go, this is the year. I’m not busy, there are no other commitments, and I’m already trying to write more. So what’s 1,667 words a day to add to that list, really?

Possibly I’m just afraid of failure.

Fifty thousand words, rationally, isn’t all that much. Assuming I have something to say, I can write up to 700 words in 20 minutes. (That’s the time limit I set to my free-writing timer.) Of course, a lot of what comes out in those 20 minutes is rubbish, and I really don’t see the point of just typing out words to boost the word count. Not, you know, that I expect a masterpiece from trying to churn out 50,000 words in a month; it’s just that I think it should be an actual first draft, not just a collection of random scenes.

I just wish I had a coherent story to tell; it would make some things easier.

3 thoughts on “fifty thousand words isn’t really that much

  1. Ghosts Inside 23 October 2016 / 9:39 pm

    I’m experiencing the same conflict – I have the time to do it this year – but I’m struggling between instead of doing something new, do I FINALLY finish the novel that I finished 4 years ago, or do something new? I think you should go for it!

    • Ghosts Inside 23 October 2016 / 9:40 pm

      And if the long game is your struggle, maybe try for short stories instead?

      • rain 23 October 2016 / 11:53 pm

        The thought of multiple short stories is vaguely more terrifying than writing one long story for some reason. It’s a good idea, though; I should keep that it mind.

        I’m pretty sure I’m going to at least start come November. I keep finding myself doodling notes about the setting in my notebook.

        Good luck on deciding which path to choose! (I’d be tempted to start something new.)

Leave a Reply

